ISPP Council Meeting Agenda at ICPP2018



(as at 15 July 2018)

In conjunction with the 11th International Congress for Plant Pathology (ICPP 2018)

Tuesday, July 31, 2018-6.30~pm to 9.30~pm in the Executive Boardroom 300~Hynes Convention Centre.

Attendance:

ISPP Council, Executive & Secretariat & ISPP Subject Matter Committee / ISPP Working Group Chairs

Apologies –Please send apologies (with message header APOLOGY ISPP Council 2018 and name of Society represented) by Email to business.manager@isppweb.org

1 Welcome by ISPP President Dr Greg Johnson and introduction of Officers. (5 min)

Motion 2018-1 That ISPP Council elect the ISPP Executive nominee as Treasurer of ISPP 2018-2023.

Motion 2018-2: ISPP Council endorses the composition of the Executive Committee for 2018-2023 supported by the Secretariat. Council notes and endorses ongoing delegation to the Executive of responsibilities for

- Appointments within the Secretariat, and for filling any casual vacancies that may occur on the Executive prior to the 5-yearly election of the new Executives of ISPP.
- Co-ordination of Subject Matter Committees (SMC) and changes to SMC membership.

Executive 2018-2023: President – Professor Jan Leach (USA) Secretary General –Professor Brenda Wingfield (South Africa); Vice President – Dr Nathalie Poussereau (France); Vice President – Dr Khaled Makkouk (Lebanon); Treasurer – TBA, Immediate Past President, Dr Greg Johnson (Australia). See: (http://www.isppweb.org/newsletters/pdf/47 8.pdf)

Secretariat: Secretary General –Professor Brenda Wingfield (South Africa); Business Manager –Andrea Masino; Editor, *ISPP Newsletter* –Dr Daniel Hüberli (Australia); Chair Task Force on Plant Pathology Priorities for 2050 – Professor M Lodovica Gullino (Italy); Editor in Chief, *Food Security* – Dr Serge Savary (France).

- 2 Self-Introduction of Councillors and Subject Matter Committee Chairs. 7.05 to 7.20
- Noting of Minutes of ISPP Council 2013 (Beijing, China) (Attachment 1 (a)) and action on issues raised by Council in 2013 (Attachment 1 (b)).
- 4 (a) ISPP 2013-2018 and Council consideration of the Program for 2018-2023: (Attachment 2) (7.40-8.35)
 - (i) International Congress on Plant Pathology and ISPP 50 Years
 - (ii) Associated Societies / Council members' involvement in ISPP, as well as other initiatives including the World Directory of Plant Pathologists;
 - (iii) ISPP Subject Matter Committees (SMCs) and Task Forces;
 - (iv) ISPP Newsletter, the Journal and Books;
 - (v) Jakob Eriksson Prize for Plant Pathology, the Fran E Fisher Award and Fellows of ISPP;
 - (vi) Administration and Executive including financial report and forward budget.
 - **(b) Treasurer's Report** (Zamir Punja Attachment 3).

Motion 2018-3 That the Treasurer's report be accepted

¹ Due to unforeseen resignation of the ISPP Treasurer, Zamir Punja

(c) Election of ISPP Fellows (Greg Johnson -Attachment 4)

Motion 2018-4: That Council elect as Fellows of the International Society for Plant Pathology the following nominees:

- Gloria Abad, USA (Chair ISPP Oomycete Committee 2016-; Workshops ICPp2008, 2013, 2018; leadership in international research on the Oomycetes)
- 2. Thomas Evans, USA (ISPP Treasurer 2008-2013; ISPP VP 2013-2018; Chair of ICPP2018 organising committee; vegetable pathology, food security and plant health programs in developing countries)
- 3. M. Lodovica Gullino, Italy (ISPP VP 2003-2008; Chair of ICPP2008 organising committee; ISPP President 2008-2013; exceptional contributions in plant pathology and sustainable agriculture)
- 4. Michelle Heath, Canada (Chair ICPP1993 Scientific Program Committee; physiological plant pathology, especially plant responses to fungal pathogens)
- You Liang Peng, China (ISPP VP 2008-2013; Chair of ICPP2013 organising committee; biology of plant associated fungi and control rice diseases)
- 6. Dov Prusky, Israel (Chair ISPP SMC for Postharvest diseases 1998-2013; quiescence and pathogenicity of *Colletotrichum gloeosporioides* on avocado)
- Mauritz Ramstedt, Sweden (Retiring chair of the Jakob Eriksson Commission (2008-2018), forest pathology)
- 8. Paul Teng, Singapore (Eriksson Prize recipient; past Chair ISPP Epidemiology SMC; rice disease epidemiology)
- 9. Shinji Tsuyumu, Japan (ISPP Councillor and member of ISPP executive nomination committee for two terms; pathogenicity of plant bacterial pathogens)
- 10. Peter Williamson, Australia (ISPP Business Manager 2006-2018; cereal diseases)

Moved: Greg Johnson Seconded: Brenda Wingfield.

(d) Revisions to Statutes and Rules of Procedure (Greg Johnson/Brenda Wingfield) (refer Attachment 2)

Changes to ISPP Statutes 14 and 15 as proposed by the ISPP Executive.

Proposed: Greg Johnson; Seconded: Brenda Wingfield

Motion 2018-5:

That ISPP Statutes 14 and 15 be revised, to replace "General Assembly" with:

"Membership" in Statute 14 and "Council" in Statute 15, recognising that in modern large Congresses it has not been practical to convene a General Assembly of members and that in practice the intended function of the Assembly has been undertaken by the ISPP Council.

Statute 14: The Constitution Bodies of the ISPP are:

- a) General Assembly Membership;
- b) the Council;
- c) an Executive Committee;
- d) a Secretariat;
- e) Committees appointed by the Council.

These bodies shall be constituted in accordance with the Rules of Procedure.

Statute 15: The General Assembly Council shall be convened within each Congress with the following functions:

- a) to provide for discussion of the general policies and programs of the ISPP;
- b) to consider matters of general interest to the members; and
- c) to provide for the installation of new officers and the presentation of honors and awards.

- (e) New Business and Suggestions from Councillors and SMCs
- (f) Report from the ICPP2023 committee. (Nathalie Poussereau and Mathias Choquer)
- **5 Any Other Business** (8.35-8.48)
 - (i) A Plant Pathologist's Pledge (Sophien Kamoun/Lodovica Gullino)
- **6** Acceptance of Reports (8.48-8.53)

Motion 2018-6. That the reports to Council from Executive and Secretariat members, and from associated societies and subject matter committees be accepted.

Moved.. Seconded

Motion 2018-7: That the ISPP Work Program for 2018-2023 be endorsed.

Moved. Seconded

- 7 **ISPP 50 years** (8.53-8.55)
- **8** Closing Remarks (8.55-9.00)

Vote of thanks to outgoing Executive, Editor in Chief, Councillors and Subject Matter Committee Chairs.

Group Photograph and Council and SMC reps invited to stay for informal discussions (9.00-9.30)